My Journey


 

I dive into the dark, stale-smelling pages

That promise me I am someone new

I am a maiden, walking on a green Ireland’s landscape

Or a soldier fighting a war, dressed in blue

 

I am elderly, rocking on my Louisiana front porch

Or a fish market owner on Maine’s salty coast

I’m a witch, casting spells on Thieves and Princes

I’m a writer for the Washington Post

 

I race down German streets in my black jaguar

I’m a mermaid, swimming unafraid in the sea

Whoever I am I feel all emotions

And live through every fantasy

 

Within these bindings, these walls, I see visions

I dream, and cry, and smile

I fall down, and build courage as I stand up

I set aside reality for a while

 

I wonder, I think, and I realize

I tense up, and unwind, relieved

And on these vision-filled, imprinted pages

I live, I die, and I breathe.                    

 

© 2003

Leave a comment