I am…


 

I am from candy cigarettes

Fred’s Market on the corner

And my hairless doll

I am from wood and brick

Quiet streets

Sunny days

And a ringing phone

I am from tomato plants growing in Grandpa’s backyard

Carnations

A bird bath

And a skinny stairway leading down to a cold basement

I’m from candlelight Christmas Eve services

And hanging the giant star

From Lois and John

I’m from intelligence, laughter, and secrets,

“Clean your room”

And “can I go to the corner store”

I’m from Foreigner and “Double Vision”

Tether ball

And winter

Cool, inviting,

And exciting

I’m from Burlingame, California

Scotland, Germany, and England

Boiled Raisin Cake

And Great-Grandpa Will who blazed a trail at 19.

Leaving that all behind, I am going to a cabin in the snow

Peaceful, rustic

Beautiful

 Because of my love for writing

With Grandma and Mom

Both honest

And secretive

I am going to “Are you My Mother”

The Lake House

And chicken ceasar salads

 I am going to write novels

Own land

Build a house with secret passageways

Sing

Be with my children, and grandchildren

I bring with me Barbie and Ken

Halloween, caramel apples

Anticipation

 My best friend Cheryl, my best dog Andy

Grandma

I am going to be an actor

An architect

Teacher

 I bring with me the ocean

Grandpa’s treehouse, and Burlingame

I leave behind Mom

Half Moon Bay

The Bible

1000 songs

 Swiss steak

Whining

Longing, loss, and my mom dying

 

 

I am clever, a stone wall

Running, an eagle

 Plums, a rose

Applause and an IQ of 124

I am spring, English 101

Zest soap, See’s Candies

 I am a Wallace

Scottish, German, English

Distraught, and writer

 I am 1000 songs

Cinderfella

Green-eyed, blue

Drums

 Country music

Walnut trees

And Mt. Everest

And I am Grandma

Searching, hardwood

Stubborn, loving

 Youthful, tenacious

Content, and crashing

I am me.

© 2009

Leave a comment